JKU Drive

JKU Drive provides access to your files and network folders, as well as the files and folders shared by you. There are various access options available. Additionally, it's possible to share files and folders to other (internal and external) users. The term Filr is also used instead of JKU Drive. 

drive.jku.at

Account

To access JKU Drive an active JKU account is required for internal users (JKU employees). External users (without JKU Account) need to create an account before accessing files and/or folders.

Access options

Your JKU Drive can be accessed via the following methods:

 Webbrowser

The web interface offers the following features:

  • My files: 
    Manage all the files that you have created.
  • Shared with me: 
    View all the files that other users have shared with you.
  • Shared by me:
    Manage all the files that you have shared with other users.
    Use this area to manage the rights that other users have to the files that you have shared with them. You can revoke rights, grant additional rights, and so forth.
  • Net Folders:
    View all the files and folders that you have access to on the university file system.

English version of Drive

To get the English version of JKU Drive, change your browser language to English.

 Desktop-client

The Desktop-Client is available for Windows, macOS and Linux. 

Download and install the desktop-client

From the web interface download the desktop-client on the welcome page.


After the installation, log in with your JKU account. At "Server URL:" enter the URL of JKU Drive: https://drive.jku.at.

 Mobile Filr App

The Filr App is available on your mobile devices. In your favorite store app, search for "Micro Focus Filr" and follow the instructions to download the Filr App.

Registration in the Filr App

  1. Enter your account credentials in the corresponding input fields. 
  2. In the Server IP address field please enter "https://drive.jku.at".
  3. Click on "Login". 


     4. At the first login you will be asked to create a Filr code.

     5. The mobile app offers the same features as the web-based interface.

 WebDAV

The WebDAV network protocol provides an additional way to access your JKU Drive data. Use a WebDAV client of your choice and, as usual, "https://drive.jku.at" as server address.

Sharing files with colleagues

You can share folders and files with both internal and external users.

File sharing

You can share files in three different ways. Click on the small arrow next to the file or select the file (place a checkmark in the box next to the file) and click on "Share".

 Copy Link

Right-Click onFile and "Share Link". 

Copy the link to your clipboard. You can send the link to the desired recipient (by email, Jabber, ...).

Public Link

Please be aware that this is a public link to the file, consequently anyone who has the link can access the file.

Access for 30 days

Please note that access is set up for 30 days by default. You can adjust the duration by going to "Copy Link" again.


 Share File

This option works analogous to folder sharing.

Shared videos cannot be embedded in Moodle. Please use JKU Video Manager for this.

Sharing folders

Sharing folders requires an active account:

  • Internal users (JKU employees) already have a JKU account.
  • External users (without a JKU account) must create an account in order to access the shared folder. A request to create an account is sent by email upon first time use.

 Sharding a folder with internal users
  • Mark the folder or Right-Click > Share
  • Enter the name or email address
  • Select the appropriate access rights (Viewer, Editor or Contributor), specify the expiration date and enter a message to the internal person in the "Note" field.
  • Under " Notify:" you can choose who is to be notified.  
  • Share by clicking on the "Save" button
 Sharing a folder with external users
The Sharing itself works the same way as "Sharing a folder with internal users"

External user WITH an account on JKU Drive:

  • The external user receives an email containing a link to the shared folder.

Email language

If your browser language is set to German, then the person you are sharing with will receive an email in German.

Conversely, if your browser is set to English, the person will also receive the emails in English.  


External user WITHOUT an account on JKU Drive:

  • The external user receives an email stating "... has invited you to access an item (folder name)"
  • Clicking on "Self-registration required" starts the registration process.
  • The external user has to provide first name, last name and a self-chosen password in order to register.
  • The terms and conditions must be accepted (Checkbox at "I accept terms and conditions")
  • Click on "Register".
  • Click "Next"
  • Login immediately to finish the registration process

Email language

If your browser language is set to German, then the person you are sharing with will receive an email in German.

Conversely, if your browser is set to English, the person will also receive the emails in English. 

To activate the account you must login once direct after registration process.

If you have not received one of the emails, please check your junkmail folder.

Sharing process from the perspective of an external person

Here you can see how the process works from the perspective of an external person. You can also provide the step-by-step instructions to support for the external person.

Understanding Shared-Access Rights

Depending on the type of share, different users can be granted different rights to a file.

Example:

  • Share a file with user A and grant the user read permission.
  • Allow User B to access the same file and grant this user editing rights. 

Different permissions:

  • Viewers may view individual files shared with them or all files in the shared folder.
  • Editors may view and edit individual files shared with them or all files in the folder shared with them.
  • Contributors (applies to folder sharing only) may create files, rename existing files, and edit, move, and delete files in the folder. May also rename or delete the folder.

Collaborate by commenting on shared files

  • Users with access to the share can view and add comments.